Picture
Who wouldn’t be ensnared by that genuine smile? Yes, it is not only for the cameras because the best photos we have taken were actually stolen in between formal shots. And that is actually what we hear from everybody relishing their best memory of the 18-year-old Antonello Joseph “AJ” Sarte Perez who passed away at a tender age due to a vehicular accident recently.

“Please, can I take my shirt off for the picture? How come you are allowing them (referring to other ABS-CBN actors in the shoot) to do it?” AJ sweetly pleaded nonstop because he worked very hard to transform his young lanky body to a more masculine, leadingactor look (his personal trainer told me that is sans any supplementation because he is so young). We kept on reminding him that Star Magic specifically said his shirt should always be on as his image was wholesome (he was just 17 then). But I guess he was just so proud that his hard work and sweat in the gym had paid off.

While the photo was taken specifically for the special advertisement in the Star Magic Catalogue 2011, we took several photos which we would like to share with fans and friends alike — and all who were positively touched by AJ, and inspired by his cheery disposition and admirable passion and discipline to be the best he could be in anything he set his mind and heart on, whether it was basketball, school, acting, dancing, modeling or simply being a son or best friend.

Unconditional Love

AJ’s loving mom Marivic calmly said in a TV interview, “All the good words we hear people say about AJ make me and my husband Gerry very proud of him. He is a perfect son.”

She shares that on the night before the accident, AJ slept beside her. She recalls the last call he made close to 10 p.m. when he said he would be home soon and that his mother did not have to worry. At that same time, she was watching Boy Abunda’s Bottomline interview with Fatima Soriano. She decided to donate AJ’s cornea to the blind Marian devotee, but unfortunately, it was not what she needed. The corneas helped one eight-year-old boy and another man whose prayers for a suitable donor were finally answered.

I went to AJ’s wake in Greenhills to personally extend my condolences to his parents and also to give them copies of the photos we took of AJ. I approached AJ’s dad Gerry, introduced myself, and expressed my sympathies.  After I handed the photos and he looked at them, he started to sob, prompting me to hug and console him though I was practically a stranger. I felt his pain as a parent, and I took notes of his interviews on TV with Boy Abunda.

“I remember all the good times with AJ. I have everything planned for my son. I see myself growing old and seeing my grandchildren. We want him to finish college. And there was no indication previously that he wanted to be in showbiz.  On his second TV commercial, we were invited by ABS-CBN. We were given a tour, then Mr. M (chairman emeritus of Star Magic Johnny Manahan) asked him if he wanted to be an actor, and he said no. He was a reserved person. It took time before he agreed to it,” he said.

His, and their agreed priority as a family, was for AJ to finish school. In fact, he was looking forward to college at DLSU where he first applied for Entrepreneurship but later shifted his application to Marketing. He personally drove for AJ every day from the Sabel (a recently concluded teleserye of ABS-CBN where AJ was lead) shoot to De La Salle High School in Greenhills. According to Dad Gerry, AJ was really kind-hearted by nature and noticing how tired his father was driving from the shoot venue to school (the shoot sometimes ended at 4 a.m., and AJ would quietly change into his La Salle uniform to go to school, and would quietly arrive on the set late afternoon straight from school), he asked when they would hire a driver. They agreed they would do that when the teleserye ends.

                                                                             READ MORE ▼▼▼▼


Picture
“Treasure every moment, every day, every minute you spend with your son, your daughter. Sometimes we are so absorbed with work or business.  But unexpected things happen without warning. That last night after the show (in Dagupan for the Bangus Festival), AJ said, “Dad, I did my best.” Don’t forget to say ‘I love you, son’ every time you see him. I failed to do that,” Gerry advised parents.

It is but natural for people who lose someone they love so much to be broken by pain, even depression. Though there is sadness and pain, AJ must be truly a loving person because the love and joy he gave resounded in the eulogies offered and my interviews of people whose lives he touched.

Below are some insights on AJ’s positive impact on people’s lives:

• Steph Ayson, AJ’s non-showbiz girlfriend, shared in her eulogy: “(He was) cheesy, sweet, sincere. He wanted to promise me the world, but I asked him not to. Because I was too afraid to hurt him, but he promised anyway, and he kept each one of them. He asked for my full trust. I admitted I was having difficulty, but he showed me he knew what trust meant and he’d never do anything to break that. AJ taught me how to love. He was very selfless. His love was the most pure thing on earth. It was, in every way, unconditional. And probably that’s the message here. He wants all of us to love the way he did also.”

• Ivan Dorschner: “AJ helped me realize through his love for family that a person is not all about what he does but more the company and family he keeps. Although he’s not with us anymore, he has instilled a sense of determination in all the people who knew him.”

• Jessy Mendiola, his love interest in Sabel:“Live life to the fullest. Life is short. AJ was very sincere and patient. I want to apply those qualities, too.”

• Matt Evans, who was with AJ in the Dagupan show: “AJ was a happy person, no dull moments no matter how tired he was with work.” 

• Gidget dela Cuesta, AJ’s handler: “AJ knows how to value education. It’s inspiring to discover his passion and professionalism towards work.”

• Enrique Gil, who was with AJ in Gigger Boys: “The impact that he left on me was to always be happy and to love everyone around us. AJ taught me to be myself and always aspire to learn. He inspired me to be true to myself no matter what.”

• Robi Domingo, another co-member of Gigger Boys: “Whenever we feel like releasing our sorrows through crying, we should always remember how AJ always smiled and laughed. We should remember him that way and turn our mournings into new mornings.”

• Renzo Sarte, cousin and best friend: “AJ had a presence, charisma, and a happy-go-lucky personality that was incomparable to anyone I’ve ever known. But everything he had, everything he accomplished, he worked for day and night. Never have I seen someone as dedicated and as disciplined with his work.”

• Thess Gubi, PR officer of Star Magic: “AJ struck me with his dedication. His perseverance and determination in everything he did was really admirable. No amount of criticism could put him down, he used it as a motivation to be better and to be the best he could be.”

• Vee Villavicencio, AJ’s barkada: “AJ always showed me that in life, in spite of all your success and achievements, you must always remain humble and thankful to God. I also admire AJ’s drive for excellence in balancing school and showbiz. AJ always prioritized his studies.”

SOURCE : http://www.philstar.com/Article.aspx?articleId=681868&publicationSubCategoryId=80WELL-BEING By Mylene Mendoza-Dayrit





Leave a Reply.